Art-Sciences research

 

Sorbonne Artgallery is launching its Art-Sciences research programme which aims to be an interface for interdisciplinary exchanges. 

Co-animated by Iglika Christina and Emma Millet, this programme regularly invites artists, scientists, critics, philosophers, researchers from different disciplines to exchange on the interactions between fine arts and the so-called "hard" sciences.

While interdisciplinary relations such as these have been going on for centuries, current artistic approaches are engaging with new incentive in the light of advances in scientific research in fields such as biology, microbiology, biotechnology, nanotechnology, etc. Sorbonne Artgallery's Art-

Sciences programme (Axe 1 of ACTE Institute), proposes that we rethink the crossroads between current artistic and scientific research through the lens of the turbulences and challenges of the contemporary world. 

Here, we invite you to follow our video interviews where speakers from artistic and/or scientific fields will share with us their projects and perspectives oriented towards interdisciplinarity.

The interviews will take place twice a month and are broadcasted live on the Facebook page as well as on the Youtube channel of Sorbonne Artgallery. At the same time, the videos are available on Sorbonne Artgallery's website under the heading Art-Sciences. 

 

 

Iglika Christova

Iglika is a visual artist and Doctor of the University Paris I Panthéon - Sorbonne in Arts and Sciences of Art. She engages her interdisciplinary research between art and biology. In order to initiate a dialogue between drawing and the microcosm of living matter, she collaborates with different actors of scientific research. In her recent solo exhibitions (Galerie Arosita in February 2019, l'orangerie-espace Tourlière in November 2017, Galerie Graphem in January 2017), Iglika Christova presented the invisible life of trees, GMOs and microorganisms evolving in a drop of water. Iglika Christova invites us to move the boundaries of drawing on and away from paper towards a "living" drawing made by micro-organisms. 

 

Emma Millet

Emma is a Fine Arts masters student at the Sorbonne Paris I Panthéon. She graduated with a 

Bachelor's degree in Visual Culture from Goldsmiths University in London. Emma Millet focuses her research and artistic practice on the interaction between art and the ecology of the living. Notably, her research focuses on fungi. Entangling her practice with this reign of life enables her to question the impact of man on nature and challenge our conception of man’s place on earth. Emma Millet is a member and head of the art section of the association Cérès in collaboration with AgroParisTech students, which aims to spread knowledge and interdisciplinary research. 

Séance inaugurale du Programme Art et Sciences 

Sorbonne

Artgallery

 

12, Place du Panthéon

Soufflot gallery - Ground floor

75005 Paris

Open : Monday to Saturday, 10AM - 5PM.

Universit%25C3%25A9_Panth%25C3%25A9on-So

Programme de recherche Art-Sciences 

 

Sorbonne Artgallery lance un programme de recherche Art-Sciences qui se veut être une nouvelle interface d’échanges interdisciplinaires. 

Co-animé par Iglika Christina et Emma Millet, ce programme invitera régulièrement des artistes, scientifiques, critiques, philosophes, chercheurs de différentes disciplines à croiser leurs regards sur les interactions entre les arts plastiques et les sciences dites “dures”.

Si les relations interdisciplinaires en ce sens se poursuivent depuis des siècles déjà, les démarches artistiques actuelles leur insufflent un nouvel élan à la lumière des avancées de la recherche scientifique dans des champs tels que la biologie, la microbiologie, les biotechnologies, les 

nanotechnologies, etc. Le programme Art-Sciences de Sorbonne Artgallery (Axe 1 de l'Institut ACTE) propose ici de repenser les croisements entre la recherche artistique et scientifique actuelle au prisme des turbulences et des enjeux du monde contemporain. 

Nous vous invitons à suivre nos entretiens vidéo où des intervenants issus de domaines artistiques et/ou scientifiques nous feront part de leurs projets et réflexions orientées vers l’interdisciplinarité. 

Les entretiens ont lieu deux fois par mois et seront diffusés en direct sur la page Facebook ainsi que la chaine Youtube de la Sorbonne Artgallery. Parallèlement, les vidéos seront disponibles sur le site de Sorbonne Artgallery depuis la rubrique Art-Sciences. 

 

Iglika Christova

Iglika est plasticienne et Docteur de l’université Paris I Panthéon - Sorbonne en Arts et Sciences de l’art. Elle s’inscrit dans une recherche interdisciplinaire entre l’art et la biologie. Afin d’engager un dialogue entre le dessin et le microcosme de matières vivantes, elle collabore avec différents acteurs de la recherche scientifique. Dans le cadre de ses récentes expositions personnelles (Galerie Arosita en février 2019, l’orangerie-espace Tourlière en novembre 2017, Galerie Graphem en janvier 2017), Iglika Christova a présenté la vie invisible des arbres, des OGM, ainsi que des micro-organismes évoluant dans une goutte d’eau. Iglika Christova invite à déplacer les frontières du dessin sur et hors papier vers un dessin dit “vivant” réalisé par le biais de micro-organismes. 

 

Emma Millet

Emma est étudiante en arts-plastiques en master 1 à l’université Paris I Panthéon - Sorbonne. Elle a 

été diplômé d’un bachelor en Culture Visuelle de l’université Goldsmiths à Londres. Emma Millet oriente sa recherche et pratique artistique autour de l’interaction entre l'art et l’écologie du vivant. Sa recherche se penche notamment sur le champignon. Ce règne du vivant lui permet de questionner la place et l’impact de l’Homme sur terre. En collaboration avec les élèves d’AgroParisTech, Emma Millet est membre et responsable de la section artistique de l’association Cérès qui a pour intention de propager le savoir et la recherche interdisciplinaire. 

Séance inaugurale du Programme Art et Sciences 

 

12, Place du Panthéon

Aile Soufflot - RDC

75005 Paris

Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 10h à 17h

Universit%25C3%25A9_Panth%25C3%25A9on-So