INTERFACE

INTERFACE is a weekly seminar organized as part of the Visual Arts and Aesthetics masters at the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne with the Sorbonne Artgallery.

Jean Reaper

December 1, 2021

Jean Faucheur is a French painter, sculptor, photographer and videographer born in Neuilly-sur-Seine in 1956; he currently lives and works in Paris.

 

After graduating from ENSAD (National School of Decorative Arts) in 1979, he set up his studio in Versailles. Feeling cramped there, he decided to show his work in the street, thus becoming one of the pioneers of new urban interventions (those who were called in 1985 the “Media Painters”).

From 1983, he made paintings on kraft paper in large format, which he then stuck illegally on 4x3m billboards in Paris. During the following two years, he undertook a trip to New York at the invitation of Tony Shafrazy, a famous gallery owner who exhibited Keith Haring, Basquiat and Futura 2000 at the time. He also went to Tokyo and co-founded Les Frères Ripoulin, a collective composed of young painters who, appreciating his work on panels, ask him to introduce them to his technique. A multidisciplinary artist, he organizes wild exhibitions in the Paris metro and at the Palace, is the co-creator of the Jean-Marc Patras gallery and presents his works at the Agnès b. as early as 1984.

Portrait-JF.jpg

From 1986, he left the street to devote himself to sculpture, painting and photography. In 2001, his meeting with Thom Thom, an artist who hijacks advertising posters with a cutter, encourages him to reconnect with the urban scene. This was followed by a cycle of exhibitions “Implosion / Explosion” and “Une nuit” bringing together from 2002 to 2005 close to 150 artists from the region. In March 2003, at the corner of rue Oberkampf and rue Saint-Maur in Paris, the association Le MUR (Modulable Urbain Réactif) was born on the initiative of Jean Faucheur. It is in 2007 that will begin on this panel of 3X8m the first interventions of urban artists every fortnight and this since nearly 15 years. At the same time, he participates in numerous artistic collective experiences (pictorial video performances Akrylonumerik, D-Rush collective, Imaginary Museum, etc.). In the summer of 2015, he was the artistic director of the “Murs de L2” in Marseille and of “À L’scale de la ville” in Paris in 2018 (Ministry of Culture). Since then, he has been president of the urban art federation. His pronounced taste for sharing and breaking up, undeniably poses Jean Faucheur as a precursor and discoverer of talent.

Felicie d'Estienne d'Orves

November 17, 2021

Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves is a visual artist whose material is light. His installations and performances appeal to a phenomenological knowledge of reality and question the conditioning of our gaze. In his work, light is both the tool and the subject. She is interested in the definition of the limits of space, physical and cosmological, by light and its speed.

 

Winner in 2019 of the Vasarely Foundation prize and guest professor at Le Fresnoy (National Studio for Contemporary Arts), her installation "Eclipse" joined the art collections, Beep Collection Electronic Art (ES), as well as the Fondation Iberdrola (ES). Since 2020, she has received commissions for permanent works such as for the Grand Paris Express as part of the “Tandem” program in collaboration with the Dietmar Feichtinger agency or even as part of the New Sponsors for the city of Louvain (BEL).

 

His work has been presented at the Center Pompidou – Nuit Blanche – Le Centquatre 104 – Sorbonne Artgallery (Paris) – Le Fresnoy Scène Nationale (Tourcoing) – The Vasarely Foundation (Aix-en-Provence) – Abbaye de Maubuisson (Saint-Ouen-l 'Aumône) – 500 years of Le Havre (Le Havre) – State Studio (Berlin) – Watermans Arts Center (London) – New Art Space / Sonic Acts (Amsterdam) – TBA Teatro do Bairro Alto (Lisbon) – Ars Electronica (Linz) – Elektra Festival (Montreal) – Day For Night (Houston) – OCAT (Shanghai) – Aram Art Museum (Goyang/Korea) etc.

Felicie-dEstienne-dOrves-eclipse-portrait.jpg

© David Coulon

INTERFACE

INTERFACE est un séminaire hebdomadaire organisé dans le cadre des masters Arts plastiques et Esthétique de l'université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne avec la Sorbonne Artgallery.

Jean Faucheur

1 décembre 2021

Jean Faucheur est un peintre, sculpteur, photographe et vidéaste français né à Neuilly-sur-Seine en 1956 ; il réside et travaille actuellement à Paris.

 

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de l'ENSAD (École Nationales des Arts Décoratifs) en 1979, il installe son atelier à Versailles. S’y sentant à l’étroit, il décide de montrer son travail dans la rue, devenant ainsi l’un des pionniers des nouvelles interventions urbaines (ceux que l’on appelait en 1985 les « Médias Peintres »).

Dès 1983, il réalise des peintures sur papier kraft en grand format, qu’il colle ensuite illégalement sur des panneaux publicitaires en 4x3m dans Paris. Lors des deux années suivantes, il entreprend un voyage à New York à l’invitation de Tony Shafrazy, célèbre galeriste qui expose à l’époque Keith Haring, Basquiat et Futura 2000. Il se rend également à Tokyo et cofonde Les Frères Ripoulin, collectif composé de jeunes peintres qui, appréciant son travail sur panneaux, le sollicitent afin qu’il les initie à sa technique. Artiste pluridisciplinaire, il organise des expositions sauvages dans le métro parisien et au Palace, est le co-créateur de la galerie Jean-Marc Patras et présente ses oeuvres à la galerie d’Agnès b. dès 1984.

Portrait-JF.jpg

A partir de 1986, il délaisse la rue pour se consacrer à la sculpture, la peinture et la photographie. En 2001, sa rencontre avec Thom Thom, artiste qui détourne des affiches publicitaires au cutter, l’incite à renouer avec la scène urbaine. S'en est suivi un cycle d'expositions « Implosion / Explosion » , et « Une nuit » réunissant de 2002 à 2005 pas loin de 150 artistes unrbains. En mars 2003, à l’angle de la rue Oberkampf et de la rue Saint- Maur à Paris, naît l’association Le M.U.R. (Modulable Urbain Réactif) à l’initiative de Jean Faucheur. C’est en 2007 que commenceront sur ce panneau de 3X8m les premières interventions d’artistes urbains tous les quinze jours et ce depuis près de 15 ans. Parallèlement il participe à de nombreuses expériences collectives artistiques (performances vidéo picturales Akrylonumerik, collectif D-Rush, Musée Imaginaire, etc.). Il est à l’été 2015 directeur artistique des « Murs de L2 » à Marseille et de « À L'échelle de la ville » à Paris en 2018 (Ministère de la Culture). Depuis cette date, il est président de la fédération de l’art urbain. Son goût prononcé pour le partage et la rupture, pose indéniablement Jean Faucheur en précurseur et en découvreur de talents.

Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves

17 Novembre 2021

Félicie d’Estienne d’Orves est une artiste plasticienne dont le matériau est la lumière. Ses installations et performances font appel à une connaissance phénoménologique du réel et interrogent le conditionnement denotre regard. Dans son travail, la lumière est à la fois l’outil et le sujet. Elle s’intéresse à la définition des limites de l’espace, physique et cosmologique, par la lumière et sa vitesse.

 

Lauréate en 2019 du prix de la Fondation Vasarely et artiste professeur invitée au Fresnoy (Studio National des Arts Contemporains), son installation «Eclipse» rejoint cette même année les collections d’art, Beep Collection Electronic Art (ES), ainsi que la Fondation Iberdrola (ES). Depuis 2020, elle recoit la commande d’oeuvres perennes comme pour le Grand Paris Express dans le cadre du programme «Tandem» en collaboration avec l’agence Dietmar Feichtinger ou encore dans le cadre des Nouveaux commanditaires pour la ville de Louvain (BEL).

 

Son travail a été présenté au Centre Pompidou – Nuit Blanche – Le Centquatre 104 – Sorbonne Artgallery (Paris) – Le Fresnoy Scène Nationale (Tourcoing) – La Fondation Vasarely (Aix-en-Provence) – Abbaye de Maubuisson (Saint- Ouen-l’Aumône) – 500 ans du Havre (Le Havre) – State Studio (Berlin) – Watermans Arts Center (Londres) – New Art Space / Sonic Acts (Amsterdam) – TBA Teatro do Bairro Alto (Lisbonne) – Ars Electronica (Linz) – Elektra Festival (Montréal) – Day For Night (Houston) – OCAT (Shanghai) – Aram Art Museum (Goyang/Corée) etc.

Felicie-dEstienne-dOrves-eclipse-portrait.jpg

© David Coulon