© Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves

FÉLICIE D'ESTIENNE D'ORVES

COSMOGRAPHIES

Poster

From 7th november to 2nd December 2017.

opening on 6thNovember at 6:00pm

With the artist, free entry

The Sorbonne Artgallery hosts a selection of nine original images from spatio-temporal explorations by Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves in the Atacama Desert (Chile) and in the Bonneville Salt Desert (Utah - US). Here, the artist points out to the laser a real-time activity of cosmic space. The images, if they seem to superimpose a virtual reality on real physical objects, literally project our thought into the sky.  Through a subtle synergy between his observations and his mastery of the effects of light on our immediate environment, Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves contextualises a singular perception of our cosmographic environment. The research-creation work she began alongside astrophysicist Fabio Acero is an undeniable engine of this new series of the artist. The visualization of the data of the real to which it leads here gives the opportunity to question our intimate relation to cosmic space.

To walk the desert is to make the physical experience of the relation to the horizon.The further one goes, the further it recedes. Atacama and Bonneville are enriched by a night horizon that offers the naked eye a detailed image of the cosmos, a sky covered with thousands of celestial objects. The apparent proximity of the luminous points is deceptive, some celestial objects are close (a few light-years) others are several thousand AL of the Earth. The gaze which gives a reading of this celestial vault, dissolves little by little in the multiple temporalities of the visible stars.

 

It is this paradox that I explore between the Euclidean scale of the desert and the current models of the universe. In ephemeral land art installations, I use light vectors (laser pointers) to highlight perspectives, spatial and temporal connections between celestial and geographical coordinates. On sites where the clear horizon provides a visual balance between the ground and the sky. The laser then becomes a tool to direct the gaze on celestial objects in the white page of the desert.

 

The laser, a modern rule of surveyors (laser standard), is a means of positioning itself in the cosmos. This large-scale drawing tool allows me to establish spatial relationships according to the sites with light as interface. The beam of the dense and rectilinear laser defies by its scope the perception of space and gives the sensation of «touching» at a distance.

 

The repeated actions of the series «Cosmographies», connect the sky and the earth by geometric combinations and architecture ephemeral sculptures of light between nearby objects and deep sky. At a given moment in time and place, the plots of light manifest the relations of simultaneity between the continuous movement of the Earth and that of the cosmos. The series of photographs underlines a suspension of time between these two immensities.

COSMOGRAPHIES, 23 ° 11′14 ″ S, 68 ° 0′16 ″ W / SIRIUS
(NOV. 13TH, 2016 - 2 am - Alt: 2500 M)

Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves, born in Athens in 1979, lives and works in Paris.

Combining light, sculptures and new technologies, the work of Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves questions the process of vision and the conditioning of the gaze.His installations call for a phenomenological knowledge of the real, they emphasize the perception of time in a continuous movement. Since 2014, the artist has focused his research on astrophysical space and the study of natural light cycles.

In 2012, on the occasion of a commission from the City of London she realized her first installation of lasers «Geometry», a sculpture of motorized mirrors that projected elementary geometries drawings in the sky of London. As a result of this project, she envisions continuing this project in the more radical context of the Atacama desert, in land art. She started in 2014, a collaboration with field recording musician Julie Rousse, around the land art project in Atacama. Their first production «EXO» (Nuit Blanche de Paris - 2015), is a laser installation that reads the sky like a music score. They associate the light of lasers projected towards hundreds of celestial objects, stars, planets, black holes, pulsars, GRB... with an electroacoustic composition of the musician*.

COSMOGRAPHIES, 23 ° 08′14 ″ S, 68 ° 14′6 ″ W / PLEIADES
(NOV. 8TH, 2016 - 11 pm - Alt: 2500 M)

Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves has been collaborating since 2011 with astrophysicist Fabio Acero (AIM laboratory, CEA/Saclay) on art-science installations such as Supernova (2011) and EXO (2015) that allow us to grasp the distances and time scales of our universe through the artistic vector. In 2016, they developed the Light Standard series which reintroduced the idea of cosmic time relating to natural rhythms as a reference system.  Each standard corresponds to an object in the solar system and follows the time it takes for light to reach Earth for each of them.  Either 8 minutes for the Sun, 2 to 15 minutes for Venus, 3 to 22 minutes for March, 4 hours to 4 hours 19 for Neptune, etc.The work of Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves was presented at the Centre Pompidou -Nuit Blanche - Le Centquatre/ Nemo (Paris) - New Art Space/ Sonic Acts (Amsterdam) - Watermans Arts Center (London) - OCAT (Shanghai) - ICAS (Dresden) - BIAN (Montréal) - Aram Art Museum (Goyang/Korea) etc. The Cosmographies in the Atacama Desert series project was carried out with the support of the CNC (DicrÉam), the French Institute (PACA), Diffusing Digital Art and Second Nature.

*The «EXO» project will be presented at the Friche Belle de Mai in Marseille on 19 May 2018 (Diffusion: GMEM, Production: Seconde Nature, Bipolar).

FÉLICIE D'ESTIENNE D'ORVES

COSMOGRAPHIES

Du 7 novembre au 2 décembre 2017.

Vernissage le lundi 6 novembre à 18h.

En présence de l'artiste. Entrée libre.

Table-ronde le lundi 6 novembre à 16h, Amphithéâtre 4, Centre Panthéon-Sorbonne,

en présence de l'astrophysicien Fabio Acero.

©Félicie d'Estienne d'Orves

La Sorbonne Artgallery accueille une sélection de neuf images originales issues d'explorations spatio-temporelles de Félicie d’Estienne d’Orves dans le désert d’Atacama (Chili) et dans le désert de sel de Bonneville (Utah - US). L'artiste pointe ici au laser une activité en temps réel de l’espace cosmique. Les images, si elles semblent superposer une réalité virtuelle sur des objets physiques réels, projettent littéralement notre pensée dans le ciel.  Par une synergie subtile entre ses observations et sa maîtrise des effets de lumière sur notre environnement immédiat, Félicie d’Estienne d’Orves contextualise une perception singulière de notre environnement cosmographique. Le travail de recherche-création qu’elle a entamé au côté de l’astrophysicien Fabio Acero est un moteur indéniable de cette nouvelle série de l’artiste. La visualisation des données du réel à laquelle elle aboutit donne ici l’occasion de s’interroger sur notre relation intime à l’espace cosmique. 

« Arpenter le désert c’est faire l’expérience physique du rapport à l’horizon. Plus on avance, plus il recule. Celui d’Atacama et de Bonneville s’enrichissent d’un horizon nocturne qui offre à l’œil nu une image détaillée du cosmos, un ciel couvert de milliers d’objets célestes. La proximité apparente des points lumineux est trompeuse, certains objets célestes sont proches (quelques année-lumière) d’autres se situent à plusieurs milliers d’AL de la Terre. Le regard qui se livre à une lecture de cette voûte céleste, se dissout peu à peu dans les temporalités multiples des astres visibles.

 

C’est ce paradoxe que j’explore entre l’échelle euclidienne du désert et les modèles actuels de l’univers. Dans des installations de land art éphémères, j'utilise les vecteurs de lumière (pointeurs laser) pour mettre en évidence des perspectives, des connexions spatiales et temporelles entre des coordonnées célestes et géographiques. Sur des sites où l’horizon dégagé permet d’établir un équilibre visuel entre le plan du sol et celui du ciel. Le laser devient alors un outil pour diriger le regard sur des objets célestes dans la page blanche du désert.

 

Le laser, règle moderne des géomètres (étalon laser), est  un moyen de se positionner dans le cosmos. Cet outil de dessin à grande échelle me permet d’établir des relations spatiales suivant les sites avec la lumière comme interface. Le faisceau du laser dense et rectiligne, défie par sa portée la perception de l’espace et donne la sensation de «toucher» à distance.

 

Les actions répétées de la série «Cosmographies», relient le ciel et la terre par des combinaisons géométriques et architecturent des sculptures éphémères de lumière entre des objets proches et du ciel profond. À un instant et dans un lieu donné, les tracés de lumière rendent manifeste des relations de simultanéités entre le mouvement continu la Terre et celui du cosmos. La série de photographies souligne une suspension du temps entre ces deux immensités.

COSMOGRAPHIES, 23°11′14″S, 68°0′16″W  / SIRIUS  
(NOV. 13TH, 2016 - 2 a.m. - Alt : 2500 M)

Félicie d’Estienne d’Orves, née à Athènes en 1979, vit et travaille à Paris.

Mêlant lumière, sculptures et nouvelles technologies, le travail de Félicie d’Estienne d’Orves interroge le processus de la vision et le conditionnement du regard. Ses installations font appel à une connaissance phénoménologique du réel, elles soulignent la perception du temps dans un mouvement continu. Depuis 2014, l’artiste concentre sa recherche sur l’espace astrophysique et l’étude des cycles de lumière naturelle.

En 2012, à l’occasion d’une commande de la Mairie de Londres elle réalise sa première installation de lasers «Geometry», une sculpture de miroirs motorisés qui projetait des dessins de géométries élémentaires dans le ciel de Londres. A la suite de ce projet, elle imagine de poursuivre ce projet dans le contexte plus radical du désert d’Atacama, en land art. Elle débute en 2014, une collaboration avec la musicienne de field recording Julie Rousse, autour du projet de land art à Atacama. Leur première réalisation «EXO» (Nuit Blanche de Paris - 2015), est une installation de laser qui lit le ciel comme une partition de musique. Elles associent la lumière de lasers projetés en direction de centaine d’objets célestes, étoiles, planètes, trous noirs, pulsars, GRB... à une composition électroacoustique de la musicienne*.

COSMOGRAPHIES, 23°08′14″S, 68°14′6″W  / PLÉIADES
(NOV. 8TH, 2016 - 11 p.m. - Alt : 2500 M)

Félicie d’Estienne d’Orves collabore depuis 2011 avec l'astrophysicien Fabio Acero (laboratoire AIM, CEA/Saclay) sur des installations art-science comme Supernova (2011) et EXO (2015) qui permettent d’appréhender les distances et les échelles de temps de notre univers par le vecteur artistique. En 2016, ils développent la série Étalon lumière qui réintroduit l’idée de temps cosmique relatif aux rythmes naturels comme  système  de  référence.  Chaque  étalon  correspond  à  un  objet  du  système  solaire  et  suit  le  temps  que  la  lumière  met  à  parvenir  à  la  Terre  pour  chacun  d’eux.  Soit  ~  8  minutes pour le Soleil, 2 à 15 minutes pour Vénus, 3 à 22 minutes pour Mars, 4 heures à 4 heures 19 pour Neptune, etc.Le travail de Félicie d’Estienne d’Orves a été présenté au Centre Pompidou - Nuit Blanche - Le Centquatre / Nemo (Paris) - New Art Space / Sonic Acts (Amsterdam) - Watermans Arts Center (Londres) - OCAT (Shanghai) - ICAS (Dresde) - BIAN (Montréal) - Aram Art Museum (Goyang /Corée) etc.Le projet de série Cosmographies dans le désert d’Atacama a été réalisé grâce au soutien du CNC (DicrÉam), de l’Institut Français (PACA), de Diffusing Digital Art et de Seconde Nature.

 

*Le projet «EXO» sera présenté à la Friche Belle de Mai à Marseille le 19 mai 2018 (Diffusion: GMEM, Production: Seconde Nature, Bipolar).

12, Place du Panthéon

Aile Soufflot - RDC

75005 Paris

  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram
  • Youtube
ACADEMIC IMPACT WEB OK1.jpg
Capture d’écran 2018-10-22 à 22.43.58.pn
Capture d’écran 2018-11-29 à 11.58.57.pn