THE END?

TOURISM AND HEALTH CRISES   

from January 28 to February 18, 2022 

Didier Bizet / Charlotte Boiron / Valérie Fresco / Aref Joftkar / Janek Kindel / Sébastien Lavallée  / Tolojanahary Ranaivosoa  / Irène Valitutto / Yue WuKindel

KAKEMONO IREST 2022_page-0001_edited.jpg

The End? Tourism and health crises 

A relevant theme and a fruitful and renewed collaboration between Sorbonne Artgallery and IREST.

Since 2020,  COVID-19 pandemic  had a strong impact on the tourism sector, its players, and the practices and imaginations of travellers. The theme of this edition of the IREST photo competition thus invites photographers to question themselves and testify the changing that are taking place in tourism and the problems that theses crises accentuate ang bring  light to . Their eyes accompany us on a journey through contradictions, fears, desires, a new form of tourists and those that will remain the same.  Tourism  is taking a new shape which persists, which reproduces itself identically, but also which can be reinvented in different spaces, other places.

IREST 

The Institute for Research and Higher Studies in Tourism (IREST) was created in 1961. It is a multidisciplinary institute within the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne which offers a wide range of training, from Professional Bachelor's degree in Masters in the fields of tourist development, heritage enhancement, hotels and the management of tourist activities and international tourism, in Paris and abroad. Research activities are structured within the IREST (Interdisciplinary Research Team on Tourism) which is made up of geographers, anthropologists, economists, researchers in management sciences, historians, historians of art and sociologists working on tourism in an interdisciplinary approach. IREST coordinates the activities of the UNESCO Chair “Culture, Tourism, Development” and the International UNITWIN UNESCO network made up of several universities located on five continents.

Jury:

Dimitri BECK (Director of Photography, POLKA), Gianluigi DI GIANGIROLAMO (Head of Communication at IREST), Francesca COMINELLI (MCF in Economics of Cultural Heritage, IREST-EIREST, Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne), Emmanuelle de l'Ecotais (Director of Photo Days), Michel Tiard (President of AIDA-IREST), Yann TOMA (Professor and artist, Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, Director of Sorbonne ArtGallery).

IREST Prize

With billions of photos posted on social networks every day, photography is more than ever the universal language of contemporary society. It is certainly the most immediate and popular medium for transmitting emotions and a vision of the world. Practically since its invention, photography has also been one of the main activities of travelers around the world, capable of creating and circulating multiple imaginaries. This is why the IREST would like to encourage photographers to share their work which testifies to the transformations of the tourist sector and the issues and conflicts it raises.  

Thanks to Francesca Cominelli, GianLuigi Di Giangirolamo and the entire IREST team.

pomesase-017.jpg

Get the invitation below

Carton IREST Devenissage.png

THE END?

TOURISME ET CRISES SANITAIRES   

du 28 janvier au 18 février 2022 

Didier Bizet / Charlotte Boiron / Valérie Fresco / Aref Joftkar / Janek Kindel / Sébastien Lavallée  / Tolojanahary Ranaivosoa  / Irène Valitutto / Yue WuKindel

KAKEMONO IREST 2022_page-0001_edited.jpg

The End? Tourisme et crises sanitaires  

Une thématique à propos et une collaboration fructueuse et renouvelée entre Sorbonne Artgallery et l’IREST.

Depuis 2020, la pandémie de COVID-19 a fortement impacté le secteur du tourisme, ses acteurs, les pratiques et les imaginaires des voyageurs. Le thème de cette édition du concours photo de l’IREST invite ainsi les photographes à s’interroger et à témoigner des transformations qui investissent le tourisme et des problèmes que ces crises accentuent ou font émerger. Leurs regards nous accompagnent dans un voyage à travers les contradictions, les peurs, les désirs, les nouveaux comportements touristiques et ceux qui demeureront les mêmes. Se dessinent les formes d’un phénomène touristique qui perdure, qui se reproduit à l’identique, mais aussi qui peut se réinventer dans des espaces différents, des autres lieux.

L’IREST 

L’Institut de Recherche et d’Études Supérieures du Tourisme (IREST) est créé en 1961. Il s’agit d’un institut pluridisciplinaire au sein de l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne qui offre une large gamme de formation, de la Licence Professionnelle aux Masters dans les domaines de l’aménagement touristique, de la mise en valeur du patrimoine, de l’hôtellerie et de la gestion des activités touristiques et du tourisme international, à Paris et à l’international. Les activités de recherche sont structurées au sein de l’EIREST (Équipe Interdisciplinaire de REcherches Sur le Tourisme) qui est composée de géographes, d’anthropologues, d’économistes, de chercheurs en sciences de gestion, d’historiens, d’historiens de l’art et de sociologues travaillant sur le tourisme dans une approche interdisciplinaire. L’IREST coordonne les activités de la Chaire UNESCO «Culture, Tourisme, Développement» et du réseau International UNITWIN UNESCO composé de plusieurs universités situées sur les cinq continents.

Jury :

Dimitri BECK (Director of Photography, POLKA), Gianluigi DI GIANGIROLAMO (Responsable de la communication de l’IREST), Francesca COMINELLI (MCF en Economie du patrimoine culturel, IREST-EIREST, Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne), Emmanuelle de l’Ecotais (Directrice de Photo Days), Michel Tiard (Président d’AIDA-IREST), Yann TOMA (Professeur et artiste, Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, Directeur de Sorbonne ArtGallery).

Prix IREST

Avec des milliards de photos déposées sur les réseaux sociaux tous les jours, la photographie constitue plus que jamais le langage universel de la société contemporaine. Elle est certainement le medium le plus immédiat et le plus populaire pour transmettre des émotions et une vision du monde. Pratiquement depuis son invention, la photographie constitue également une des activités principales des voyageurs à travers le monde, capable de créer et de faire circuler des multiples imaginaires. C’est pourquoi l’IREST tient à encourager les photographes à partager leurs travaux qui témoignent des transformations du secteur touristique et des problématiques et des conflits qu’il suscite. 

Remerciements à Francesca Cominelli, GianLuigi Di Giangirolamo et toute l’équipe de l’IREST.

pomesase-017.jpg

Munissez vous de l'invitation ci dessous

Carton IREST Devenissage.png