CHRISTIAN JACCARD

GROWTH SHARES

 6th January to 3th March 2017

Opening the 5th February at 6:00pm

Christian Jaccard presents ephemeral paintings designed especially for the gallery of the academic palace of the University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. His work refers as much to world phenomena and the fluctuation of time derivations as to our own ignitions.  For the artist one of the major issues is the representation of time. Initiated in the 1970s with the burning of objects on canvas, hides and anonymous paintings, the igneous path associates with the pictorial gesture the ancestral practice of ecobuage, also known as culture on slash. The slow burn alters the material and the original colour of various materials and supports, from which a network of new imprints emerges. These «automatic» drawings are all stigmata of time, constituting for the artist a memory trace, a significant landmark. Applied to the scale of a wall or building, “ephemeral paintings” celebrate cosmic energy.

In this contextual work, the omnipresence of ignigraphs reflects the movements of an economy of ignition that intersects, juxtaposes or superimposes itself in corrected data. It is comparable to that of globalization, which is daily stigmatized by stock market graphs plotting temporary, brutal or cyclical rises and falls.

The process of ignition takes hold of it. The outbreaks, their flux of expansion, their textures, their strata, their pigmentations overheating act by declining their fluctuating and metaphorical perspectives. They stigmatize the explosive volatility of eddies and the unpredictability of precipitation induced in the grandiose and chaotic universe of growth indices, statistical developments, operational results, resource factors, business cycle curves, performance gaps, trend indicators, value transfers, rates of return.

Speculative and virtual interfaces, dominating and flamboyant fluctuations resist, rush or collapse. Dissipated, the energy with its flame-retardant properties translates and irony on the evolution of the incessant stock market turpitudes. She spreads her graphs whose shadow penetrates the margins. Its undulating rhythms and peaks are those of frantic clues that burn and burn their own record. So many landscapes of legends where dream and reality express the untimely nuances of oscillations.

In the vehement ignition as in the imprint of bitumen, the Human sees the dawn of the mystery that he carries within himself. Dissipated, complementary and different energies are inherent conditions of thought. The mind manipulates them and moves in an unhindered universe. Their materials are in their respective properties, in the combinatorial covering and its function. The density of bifurcations within the labyrinth of particles, the latter never ceases to intersect, creating compulsive and chaotic factors.

Biographie

Christian Jaccard, of Swiss origin, was born in 1939 in Fontenay sous Bois. He learned the Manuel du gabier and the campfires (1948). High school student he collects fossils, unfailing traces of the time (1954). Student, he trains in fine arts at the national school of Bourges (1956-1960). Jaccard is interested in industrial waste and traces by imprints: genesis of his first lithographic works. Chromist engraver in a printing press (1964-1975). He explores impregnation processes related to the manufacture of specific tools.  He shapes and obliterates successively Erased Canvases, Tied Canvases, Counterplated Canvases, Calcined Canvases. Artist of the combustion process: Anonymes calcinés, Trophées, Toiles brûlées (1970-1989) he developed the Brûlis and Pics de combustion in conjunction with the Supranodal Concept (proliferation of knotty textures) since 1990. His occasional interventions in industrial wastelands, chapels and other places are a new implementation of his pictorial transition and where, at each stop, the ephemeral picture and its implementation are accomplished in terms of exploration. Dedicated artist Christian Jaccard is now President of the ADAGP (Société des Auteurs dans les Arts Graphiques et Plastiques) where he defends the interests of artists and copyright. He is a member of the UFR Council of the Ecole des Arts de la Sorbonne.

CHRISTIAN JACCARD

PARTS DE CROISSANCE

 6th January to 3th March 2017

Vernissage le 5 février à 18h.

Christian Jaccard présente des tableaux éphémères conçus spécialement pour la galerie du palais académique de l’université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Son œuvre se réfère autant aux phénomènes mondiaux et à la fluctuation des dérivations du temps qu’à nos propres ignitions. Pour l'artiste un des enjeux majeurs est la représentation du temps. Initiée dans les années 1970 avec la combustion d’objets sur toile, de cuirs et de tableaux anonymes, la voie ignée associe au geste pictural la pratique ancestrale de l’écobuage, dite aussi culture sur brûlis. La combustion à mèche lente altère la matière et la couleur originelle de matériaux et de supports divers, desquels émerge un réseau d’empreintes inédites. Ces dessins « automatiques » sont autant de stigmates du temps, constituant pour l’artiste une trace mémorielle, un repère signifiant. Appliqués à l’échelle du mur ou d’un édifice, les « tableaux éphémères » célèbrent l’énergie cosmique. 

Dans cette œuvre contextuelle, l’omniprésence des ignigraphies reflète les mouvements d’une économie de l’ignition qui se croise, se juxtapose ou se superpose en données corrigées. Elle est comparable à celle de la mondialisation stigmatisée quotidiennement par les graphiques  des Bourses  traçant des montées et des chutes passagères, brutales ou cycliques.

Le processus d’ignition s’en empare. Les flambées, leur flux d’expansion, leurs textures, leurs strates, leurs pigmentations en surchauffe agissent en déclinant leurs perspectives fluctuantes et métaphoriques. Elles stigmatisent la volatilité explosive des remous et l’imprévisibilité des précipitations induites dans l’univers grandiose et chaotique des indices de croissance, évolutions de statistiques, résultats opérationnels, facteurs de ressources, courbes de conjoncture, écarts de performance, indicateurs de tendance, transferts de valeur, taux de rendement....

Interfaces spéculatives et virtuelles, les fluctuations dominatrices et flambeuses résistent, s’emballent ou s’effondrent. Dissipée, l’énergie aux propriétés ignigènes traduit et ironise sur l’évolution des turpitudes boursières incessantes. Elle étale ses graphes dont l’ombre pénètre les marges. Ses rythmes ondulatoires et ses pics sont ceux des indices frénétiques qui brûlent et crament leur propre record. Autant de paysages de légendes où rêve et réalité expriment les nuances  intempestives des oscillations.

Dans  l’ignition véhémente comme dans l’empreinte de bitume, l’Humain voit poindre le mystère qu’il porte en lui-même. Les énergies dissipées, complémentaires et différentes, sont des conditions inhérentes à la pensée. L’esprit les manipule et se meut dans un univers sans entrave. Leurs matières sont dans leurs propriétés respectives, dans  la combinatoire du recouvrement et de sa fonction. Densité des bifurcations au sein du labyrinthe des particules, celle ci ne cesse  de se croiser,   d’ourdir ses facteurs compulsifs et chaotiques.

Biographie

Christian Jaccard, d’origine suisse, est né en 1939 à Fontenay sous Bois. Il apprend le Manuel du gabier et les feux de camps (1948). Lycéen il ramasse des fossiles, traces indéfectibles du temps (1954). Étudiant, il se forme aux beaux-arts à l’école nationale de Bourges (1956-1960). Jaccard s’intéresse aux déchets industriels et aux traces par empreintes : genèse de ses premiers travaux lithographiques. Graveur chromiste dans une imprimerie typographique (1964-1975). Il explore des processus d’imprégnation liés à la confection d’outils spécifiques. Il façonne et oblitère successivement des Toiles effacées, Toiles ficelées, Toiles contrepliées, Toiles calcinées. Artiste du processus de combustion: Anonymes calcinés, Trophées, Toiles brûlées (1970-1989) il développe les Brûlis et Pics de combustion conjointement au Concept supranodal (prolifération de textures noueuses) depuis1990. Ses interventions ponctuelles dans les friches industrielles, chapelles et autres lieux sont une nouvelle mise en œuvre de sa transition picturale et où, à chaque escale  le tableau éphémère et sa mise en œuvre s’accomplissent en terme d’exploration. Artiste consacré, Christian Jaccard est aujourd’hui Président de l’ADAGP (Société des Auteurs dans les Arts Graphiques et Plastiques) où il défend l'intérêt des artistes et du droit d'auteur. Il est membre du Conseil d’UFR de l’Ecole des Arts de la Sorbonne.

12, Place du Panthéon

Aile Soufflot - RDC

75005 Paris

  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram
  • Youtube
ACADEMIC IMPACT WEB OK1.jpg
Capture d’écran 2018-10-22 à 22.43.58.pn
Capture d’écran 2018-11-29 à 11.58.57.pn