Landscape, 2002, Acrylic on canvas, Barcelona chairs, TV. 10 'x 17'. Collection of the University of Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada.

Iain Baxter &

(& Man)

3rd October to 4th November 2017

POWER OF &

Iain Baxter & (or & MAN) is one of the tutelary figures of the artistic movement of "critical enterprises". They have arisen in the four corners of the globe since the 1960s, as "companies" or "firms" and are carried by entrepreneurial artists. If their aesthetic field is often close to that of the company, it is indeed the political field that the "critical companies" invest day after day, through an unexpected reflection and production. The exhibition of Iain Baxter & at the Sorbonne Artgallery is thus a highlight of our program of international artists who question the links between art and society.

The history of Iain Baxter & runs parallel to that of the contemporary company, which began during the economic boom of the 1960s, a period of flourishing of the American company and of its geographic and media expansion. Baxter & explains:

“An artist in this market environment ultimately depends on the charity of those who, for one or another psychosocial reason, wish to 'support' the arts (economic motivation should be added to this since art began to exist). 'object of savage speculation). It is essential to free artists from these constraints and to rely on the cultural knowledge they possess to better blend in with the worlds of business, politics and education ”.

 

Creating an artistic structure based on the model of the contemporary company then appears to be an appropriate solution. By turning art into a business, the artist acquires the status of an entrepreneur and grants himself the same prerogatives as those of his counterpart in the economic world, thus gaining significant room for action.

 

In 1966, Iain Baxter & set up the NE Thing Company , a business and a work at the same time. In 1969, the British Columbia Gazette , Vancouver's official journal of notices, incorporated the company into its registers, a legal act that literally entered the artistic gesture in the business world, and at the same time, introduced the business world into the history of 'art. "Producing sensitive information" is the first status and the central objective of this pioneering company, determined to erase the traditionally insurmountable gap between aesthetics and economics. Its activity will develop during ten years, affirming the ground where will emerge later structures with the form and the similar ambition. Supplier of sensitive information of all kinds, the NE Thing Company will also organize experiments designed to generate it: an expedition to the Arctic Circle, business consulting services, as well as the launch of its branches, the NE Photo Lab ( photographic laboratory) and the Eye Scream restaurant.

 

Infiltrating the corporate world requires building a system that is not only credible, but also operative. The creation of the company establishes the passage to the act, it is then necessary to make it live. Everything that there is to take or learn from the business world will thus be adapted to the (artistic) context of its establishment: logo, official stationery, stamps, slogans, posters, badges, etc., art claims its right to be everywhere. "Art is all over", insists Baxter &. The year of its official registration, the firm installed in the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa, a "corporate environment" to be mistaken: offices, busy secretaries, the president's office and other paraphernalia of the working world made up the structure. , realizing a confusing transposition for the eye as well as for the mind. To enter this space was to venture into a breach where art confronted itself and held up a mirror to the business world. This breach has continued to widen since.

Reinventing the company and inventing itself as a company are part of the "global posture" advocated by & MAN throughout its life, which it sees as a permanent search for new means to navigate its environment and to build adapted solutions. to inhabit the world. And it is precisely there that he situates his field of action, in the landscape in the broadest sense: that of the real world and that scaffolded by information, understood as the media-message formulated by Marshall McLuhan, whose thought merges with the artist's vision.

  Presentation notice for “Iain Baxter &” published in Yann Toma (dir.), Les Entreprises critiques , Paris,

Cité du Design Éditions, Collection Chair of Research in Creation and Creativity, 2008, pp. 239-250.

Portrait of Iain Baxter &, 2000, Artist's pool, Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Sorbonne

Artgallery

 

12, Place du Panthéon

Soufflot gallery - Ground floor

75005 Paris

Open : Monday to Saturday, 10AM - 5PM.

Universit%25C3%25A9_Panth%25C3%25A9on-So

IAIN BAXTER& (&MAN)

POWER OF &

Du 3 octobre au 4 novembre 2017.

Vernissage le lundi 2 octobre à 18h.

En présence de l'artiste. Entrée libre.

Table-ronde le lundi 2 octobre à 16h, 

au Centre Panthéon-Sorbonne, en présence de Christophe Domino.

Portrait of Iain Baxter&, 2000, Artist's pool, Windsor, Ontario, Canada 

Iain Baxter& (ou &MAN) est une des figures tutélaires de la mouvance artistique des "entreprises critiques". Elles surgissent au quatre coins du globe depuis les années 60, en tant que "sociétés" ou "firmes" et sont portées par des artistes entrepreneurs. Si leur champ esthétique est souvent proche de celui de l'entreprise, c'est bien le champ politique que les "entreprises critiques" investissent jour après jour, à travers une réflexion et une production inattendue. L'exposition de Iain Baxter& à la Sorbonne Artgallery est ainsi un temps fort de notre programmation d'artistes internationaux qui questionnent les liens entre l'art et la société. 

L’histoire de Iain Baxter& se déroule en parallèle à celle de l’entreprise contemporaine, qui démarre pendant le boom économique des années 60, période d’épanouissement de l’entreprise américaine et de son expansion géographique et médiatique. Baxter& explique :

« Un artiste dans cet environnement de marché dépend finalement de la charité de ceux qui, pour l’une ou l’autre des raisons psychosociales, souhaitent « soutenir » les arts (il faudrait y ajouter la motivation économique depuis que l’art fait l’objet d’une spéculation sauvage). Il est essentiel de libérer les artistes de ces contraintes et de s’appuyer sur les connaissances culturelles qu’ils possèdent pour mieux se fondre dans les mondes des affaires, de la politique et de l’éducation ».

 

Créer une structure artistique calquée sur le modèle de l’entreprise contemporaine apparaît alors comme une solution adaptée. En faisant de l’art une entreprise, l’artiste acquiert le statut d’entrepreneur et s’accorde les mêmes prérogatives que celles de son homologue dans le monde économique, gagnant ainsi une marge d’action importante.

 

Dès 1966, Iain Baxter& met en place la N.E. Thing Company, entreprise et oeuvre à la fois. En 1969, le British Columbia Gazette, journal de notices officiel de Vancouver, incorpore la société dans ses registres, acte juridique qui inscrit littéralement le geste artistique dans le monde des affaires, et parallèlement, introduit le monde des affaires dans l’histoire de l’art. « Produire de l’information sensible » est le premier statut et l’objectif central de cette société pionnière, déterminée à effacer l’écart traditionnellement infranchissable entre l’esthétique et l’économique. Son activité se développera pendant une dizaine d’années, affirmant le terrain où surgiront par la suite des structures à la forme et à l’ambition similaire. Fournisseur d’informations sensibles de toute sorte, la N.E. Thing Company organisera également des expériences destinées à la générer : une expédition sur le cercle polaire, des services de consultation d’entreprise, ainsi que le lancement de ses succursales, le N.E. Photo Lab (laboratoire photographique) et le restaurant Eye Scream.

 

Infiltrer le monde des entreprises exige la construction d’un dispositif qui soit non seulement crédible, mais aussi opératoire. La création de la compagnie établit le passage à l’acte, il faut par la suite la faire vivre. Tout ce qu’il y a prendre ou à apprendre du monde des affaires sera ainsi adapté au contexte (artistique) de son implantation : logo, papeterie officielle, tampons, slogans, affiches, badges, etc., l’art revendique son droit à être partout. « Art is all over », insiste Baxter&. L’année de son enregistrement officiel, la firme installe dans la National Gallery of Canada à Ottawa, un « corporate environnement » à se méprendre : des bureaux, des secrétaires affairées, le bureau du président et autres attirails du monde du travail composaient la structure, réalisant une transposition déroutante aussi bien pour l’oeil que pour l’esprit. Entrer dans cet espace c’était s’aventurer sur une brèche où l’art se mettait en face et tendait un miroir au monde des affaires. Cette brèche n’a pas cessé de s’élargir depuis.

Réinventer l’entreprise et s’inventer comme entreprise font partie de la « posture globale » prônée par &MAN tout au long de sa vie, qu’il envisage comme une recherche permanente de nouveaux moyens pour naviguer dans son environnement et pour construire des solutions adaptées pour habiter le monde. Et c’est justement là qu’il situe son terrain d’action, dans le paysage au sens le plus large : celui du monde réel et celui échafaudé par l’information, comprise comme le média-message formulé par Marshall McLuhan, dont la pensée se confond avec la vision de l’artiste. 

 Notice de présentation de « Iain Baxter& » parue dans Yann Toma (dir.), Les Entreprises critiques, Paris,

Cité du Design Éditions, Collection Chaire de Recherche en Création et Créativité, 2008, pp. 239-250. Lien 

Landscape, 2002, Acrylic on canvas, Barcelona chairs, TV. 10’ x 17’. Collection of the University of Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada.

12, Place du Panthéon

Aile Soufflot - RDC

75005 Paris

  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram
  • Youtube
ACADEMIC IMPACT WEB OK1.jpg
Capture d’écran 2018-10-22 à 22.43.58.pn
Capture d’écran 2018-11-29 à 11.58.57.pn