From 18th march to 18th may 2019
Opening on the 18th march at 6:00pm

Tomas Vu

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

FLATLAND

Tomas Vu was born in Saigon, Vietnam, and at the age of ten years, moved with his family to El Paso, in Texas. After graduating from Fine Arts from the University of Texas (El Paso), then a master’s degree at Yale University. He is a professor at the Columbia University School of the Arts since 1996 and has been appointed professor of visual arts LeRoy Neiman in 2000. In 1996, Vu helped found the LeRoy Neiman Center for Print Studies. Since its creation, it has the position of director/artistic director of the Neiman.
In 2001, the towers fell and, a month later, I learned that I would be a father. From this turbulent period was born the Flatland series. Through Flatland, I created a landscape that allows the fusion of opposing and conflicting forces: destruction and recovery, chaos and clarity, brutality and civility. These polarities arise from the battle constant playing in my head enters memory and reality, more precisely the memory of a distinct landscape that has been the present psychological reality combines memory, desire and uncertainty with the illusion of space and the physicality of the surface. This game of perceptual power, the excessively waged war between light and darkness, is embodied not only in the use of chiaroscuro, but also in the exhibition.
When completed, the Flatland series will include 102 prints, each with a time title. These 102 pieces represent the 102 minutes elapsed between the impact on the first twin tower and the collapse of the second. In doing so, the prints are transformed into individual objects, into something closer to the still image of a film. They are a slice of a floating set, in constant motion. When these works are installed for shows, they occupy a grid, often passing from darkness to light, thus becoming fragments of moving landscapes and, taken together, they give an impression of movement through time.” 

Sorbonne

Artgallery

 

12, Place du Panthéon

Soufflot gallery - Ground floor

75005 Paris

Open : Monday to Saturday, 10AM - 5PM.

Universit%25C3%25A9_Panth%25C3%25A9on-So

Du 18 Mars au 18 Mai 2019
Vernissage le 18 mars à 18h.

Tomas Vu

FLATLAND

Tomas Vu est né à Saigon, au Vietnam, et à l’âge de dix ans, a déménagé avec sa famille à El Paso, au Texas. Après avoir obtenu le diplôme des beaux-arts de l’Université du Texas (El Paso), puis une maîtrise au beaux-arts de l’Université de Yale. Il est professeur à la Columbia University School of the Arts depuis 1996 et a été nommé professeur d’arts visuels LeRoy Neiman en 2000. En 1996, Vu a aidé à fonder la LeRoy Neiman Center for Print Studies. Depuis sa création, il en occupe le poste de directeur/directeur artistique du centre de Neiman.
« En 2001, les tours sont tombées et, un mois plus tard, j’ai appris que j’allais être père. De cette période turbulente est née la série Flatland. À travers Flatland, j’ai créé un paysage qui permet la fusion de forces opposées et conflictuelles : destruction et récupération, chaos et clarté, brutalité et civilité. Ces polarités découlent de la bataille constante qui se joue dans ma tête entre mémoire et réalité, plus précisément le souvenir d’un paysage distinct qui a été déplacé. La réalité psychologique actuelle combine la mémoire, le désir et l’incertitude avec l’illusion de l’espace et la physicalité de la surface. Ce jeu de pouvoir perceptuel, la guerre excessivement menée entre la lumière et l’obscurité, s’incarne non seulement dans l’utilisation du clair-obscur, mais aussi dans l’exposition des nombreuses contradictions.
Une fois terminée, la série Flatland comprendra 102 tirages, chacun avec un titre temporel. Ces 102 pièces représentent les 102 minutes écoulées entre l’impact sur la première tour jumelle et l’effondrement de la seconde. Ce faisant, les tirages sont transformés en objets individuels, en quelque chose de plus proche de l’image fixe d’un film. Ils figurent une tranche d’un ensemble flottant, en mouvement constant. Lorsque ces oeuvres sont installées pour des spectacles, elles occupent une grille, passant souvent de l’obscurité à la lumière, devenant ainsi des fragments de paysages en mouvement et, prises ensemble, elles donnent une impression de mouvement à travers le temps. »

12, Place du Panthéon

Aile Soufflot - RDC

75005 Paris

Ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 8h à 21h

Le samedi de 9h à 17h

Universit%25C3%25A9_Panth%25C3%25A9on-So