ORLAN

Crying women are angry

5th November 2019 to 18th January 2020
Opening 8th November at 6:00 p.m.

ORLAN is one of the leading French artists recognized internationally. It uses sculpture, photography, performance, video, 3D, video games, augmented reality as well as scientific and medical techniques such as surgery, biotechnology, AI, robotics... ORLAN is constantly and radically changing the data, deregulating the conventions and the ready-to-think. It is opposed to natural, social and political determinism, to all forms of domination, male supremacy, religion, cultural segregation, racism... Always mixed with humour, sometimes parody or even grotesque, his work questions the phenomena of society and upsets pre-established codes.

For the first time in its history, the Sorbonne Artgallery, supported by Florence Bourgeois and Christoph Wiesner, director and artistic director of Paris Photo, is part of this renowned international event at which ORLAN is awarded the 100 Heroines Medal by The Royal Photographic Society.. 

The artist presents an original photographic work, specially designed for this exhibition. Through its in situ intervention, ORLAN questions and puts into perspective a series of faces of women in tears and anger, in direct reference to the painting of Picasso, today put back into play by photography.

« Femme avec tête(s) is a series of eight photographs taken by the artist ORLAN as part of a thought on the women of the shadows who played a major role in the lives of the artists. Like a new hybridization through a photographic montage that mixes the features of Dora Maar and other muses of the master Picasso with those of ORLAN, the work establishes itself as a game of destruction, construction and creation of the female figure around the pattern of tears. The series runs through the tears shed by silhouettes of shadow. Full of an anachronism that studies the position of women in the current artistic sphere, the work, all politics, is based on a visual search of faces of horror, fear and greatness. » 

"Orlan: femme avec tête(s)",

November 8, 2019

Press coverage

Télérama outings, ORLAN Invitation, 2019

https://sorties.telerama.fr/sorties/rencontre-privee-avec-orlan

Culture secrets, ORLAN, 2019

https://www.culturesecrets.com/rencontre-prive-avec-orlan-sorbonne-artgallery?locale=en

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

9 lives magazine, ORLAN, 2019

https://www.9lives-magazine.com/59123/2019/12/10/culturesecrets-9-lives-convient-a-rencontre-unique-orlan/

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Philomel, ORLAN, 2019

https://philomel.hypotheses.org/354

Sorbonne

Artgallery

 

12, Place du Panthéon

Soufflot gallery - Ground floor

75005 Paris

Open : Monday to Saturday, 10AM - 5PM.

Universit%25C3%25A9_Panth%25C3%25A9on-So

ORLAN

LES FEMMES QUI PLEURENT SONT EN COLÈRE

Du 5 Novembre 2019 au 18 Janvier  2020
Vernissage le 8 Novembre à 18h

ORLAN est une des plus grandes artistes françaises reconnue internationalement. Elle utilise la sculpture, la photographie, la performance, la vidéo, la 3D, les jeux vidéo, la réalité augmentée ainsi que les techniques scientifiques et médicales comme la chirurgie, les biotechnologies, l’IA, la robotique. ORLAN change constamment et radicalement les données, déréglant les conventions et les prêt-à-penser. Elle s’oppose au déterminisme naturel, social et politique, à toutes formes de domination, la suprématie masculine, la religion la ségrégation culturelle, le racisme. Toujours mêlée d’humour, parfois de parodie ou même de grotesque, son œuvre interroge les phénomènes de société et bouscule les codes préétablis. 

Pour la première fois de son histoire, la Sorbonne Artgallery, bénéficiant du soutien de Florence Bourgeois et de Christoph Wiesner, directrice et directeur artistique de Paris Photo, s’inscrit dans cette manifestation internationale de renom à l’occasion de laquelle est remise à ORLAN la médaille des 100 héroïnes par The Royal Photographic Society. 

L’artiste présente une œuvre photographique originale, spécialement conçue pour cette exposition. À travers son intervention in situ, ORLAN questionne et met en perspective une série de visages de femmes en pleurs et en colère, en référence directe à la peinture de Picasso, aujourd’hui remises en jeu par la photographie. 

« Femme avec tête(s) est une série de huit photographies réalisées par l’artiste ORLAN dans le cadre d’une pensée sur les femmes de l’ombre qui ont joué un rôle prépondérant dans la vie des artistes. Telle une nouvelle hybridation à travers un montage photographique qui mélange les traits de Dora Maar et autres muses du maître Picasso à ceux d’ORLAN, l’œuvre s’établit comme un jeu de destruction, construction et création de la figure féminine autour du motif des pleurs. La série parcourt les larmes versées par des silhouettes de l’ombre. Pleine d’un anachronisme qui étudie la position de la femme dans la sphère artistique actuelle, l’œuvre, toute politique, se fonde sur une recherche visuelle de visages d’horreur, de peur et de grandeur. » 

Retombées presse

12, Place du Panthéon

Aile Soufflot - RDC

75005 Paris

Ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 8h à 21h

Le samedi de 9h à 17h

Universit%25C3%25A9_Panth%25C3%25A9on-So